Review: Fifty Shades Darker

Summary from Goodreads:

Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist.  They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

Why I Read It:

After neglecting any and all housework, laundry, and personal commitments for two days, I figured I might as well keep up the trend and dive right into book two of the trilogy, Fifty Shades Darker.  In fact, I don’t think I had even finished reading the last twenty pages of book one, before I was clicking buy so that I knew this one would be downloaded and ready to go when I was.

What I Thought:

Fifty Shade Darker was fifty shades better than book one, and I loved book one!  Book one ended with a horrible, dreary cliffhanger that had my heart breaking for Mr. Grey.  I couldn’t even believe the events that had taken place, and I was dying to see where the author was taking us.  In fact, I ended up giving up very precious sleep and went to work resembling a zombie because I *had* to know what was happening.  Again, with Fifty Shades Darker, the writing wasn’t stellar, but it wasn’t the worst I have ever read.  I’ve painfully made my way through books with a much lackluster story line and horrendous writing before, and this wasn’t even comparable.

In Darker, the author takes us deeper into the psyche of Christian Grey, and we begin to see more and more of why he is the way he is.  Rather than making me turn away, I fell deeper and deeper into literature love with Mr. Grey.  Every secret revelation made my heart-break a little more for the man, and I really wanted to wrap my arms around him and hold him.  So corny, I know right?  But I couldn’t help it.  It’s just how the author made me feel.

Also, Anastasia finally grew a backbone.  She’s still a twit most of the time, but at least she’s a twit with a backbone.  I think more so than in any of the other novels, you can clearly see the parallels between her and Bella Swan in book two.  While neither character remains my favorite, I can still see why the authors developed them to be the way they are.  The characters profile’s play nicely against that of the alpha male.

Why You Should Read It:

If you read Fifty Shades of Grey and found it the least bit interesting, you absolutely must pick up Fifty Shades Darker.  To me, it is the best in the trilogy and solidifies everything that I had originally thought I had seen in Christian Grey.

Bloggers love comments. They're like presents under the Christmas tree! Thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my blog!

