Review: Fifty Shades Freed

Summary from Goodreads:

When unworldly student Anastasia Steele first encountered the driven and dazzling young entrepreneur Christian Grey it sparked a sensual affair that changed both of their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and, ultimately, repelled by Christian’s singular erotic tastes, Ana demands a deeper commitment. Determined to keep her, Christian agrees.

Now, Ana and Christian have it all—love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own identity. And Christian must overcome his compulsion to control as he wrestles with the demons of a tormented past.

Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to make Ana’s deepest fears turn to reality.

Why I Read It:

After finishing books one and two, I had to read the final book of the trilogy.  There was a bit of mystery bait that was left hanging at the end of book two, and I really wanted to know the connection.  I did take a few hours break to feed my family, clean the house, and do a load of laundry before starting Freed…but only because my husband begged me 😉

What I Thought:

As you all know, I loved both books one and two.  However, I found Freed to be lacking something.  I don’t know if it was because it took place after Anastasia and Christian were married, or if I was burned out on the romance, but something seemed off kilter.  In fact, I ended up reading about a quarter of this one, sitting it down for a few days and then returning to it.  It just didn’t seem to hold my attention like the other two.

Despite those misgivings, upon returning to it, I did find that the story picked up pace and by the end, I was elated with the direction the author took the couple in.  Christian had developed into a wonderfully well-rounded, beautiful man.  Anastasia proved to me that she was actually a wonderful fit for him, and I felt better about letting her be married to my literary crush (because she needed my permission and all, you know?).

My favorite thing about book three was the epilogue.  I loved knowing what happened to the couple down the line, and I was ecstatic with the results.  The author also did a “Midnight Sun” type of thing, where we got to read the first chapter of book one from Christian’s point of view, and honestly it made me want to go back and re-read the entire first book to pick up on things I may have missed.

All in all, this series was the perfect get away read.  They weren’t the type of novels that I could read on a daily basis.  Certain factors of the books started to wear on my nerves…almost a how much is too much type of thing, but overall, I loved everything about them.  These are definitely books that I’ll keep on the shelves, picking up when I just need something to take my mind off normal every day life.  They’ll be my secret escape when real life just gets to be too much…which believe it or not can happen with a full-time job, two dogs, a husband, and a very curious 18 month old.

Why You Should Read It:

This is a no brainer.  If you’ve read the first two, it’s an absolute must that you give book three a whirl!  Plus, what’s a few more hours with Christian Grey…

Bloggers love comments. They're like presents under the Christmas tree! Thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my blog!

